User types and access controls

User types in Live Center

Live Center allows you to create and manage users in many different ways depending on your need for control, and organizational breadth and depth. This means that Live Center is as easy to manage for a team of one-three users, as for a multi-account organization of with hundreds of users.

The three types of users are Admins, Normal users, and Single-channel Guests


Which User type a user should be assigned depends on what types of actions they should be able to take, and what level of access they should have.


Assigning User Types

After a user has been invited to a Live Center account they become visible in the Users section where Admins are able to change their user type

To change a users User type, click the downward arrow next to the right of a user's row

Once expanded, an overview of the three user types are shown as well as the currently selected user type (orange highlight)

To change the user type, click one of the two other options. Once selected, the changes are applied instantly for the user. 


Setting user access

Single-Channel Guests types and Normal users types have in addition to their inherent differences of having access to a specific channel or all channels, also the ability to be controlled on an Access level - meaning control over what actions a user can take.

Single-Channel Guests

The first option when setting a users to a Single-Channel Guest type is to select which channel they should have access to. 

Once a channel has been selected, the options for setting Access levels are presented. These include:ยจ

  • Allow publishing - Allows the user to publish their own posts and others' drafted post
  • Allow editing others posts - Allows the user to edit others', already published, posts
  • Allow deleting others posts - Allows the user to delete others', already published posts
  • Allow editing others drafts -  Allows the user to edit (but not publish) others' drafts

Multiple Access can be combined, for example by toggling on Allow publishing and Allow editing other's drafts, the user can both edit existing drafts and publish their drafts.

Normal users

By default, a Normal user has full publishing access. Meaning they have full access to create and publish content in a channel as well as create and manage Channels, Tags, and Extensions.

However the option exists to limit access for the following:

  • Allow publishing - Allows the user to publish their own posts and others' drafted post
  • Allow editing others posts - Allows the user to edit others', already published, posts
  • Allow deleting others posts - Allows the user to delete others', already published posts
  • Allow editing others drafts -  Allows the user to edit (but not publish) others' drafts
  • Manage channels - Create, rename, and delete channels
  • Manage tags - Create and delete tags
  • Manage extensions - Create, manage, and delete Extensions

Normal user access controls can similarly be combined to achieve different types of access combinations. For example toggling on Editing other's drafts and Publishing allows the user to bit edit existing drafts and publish their drafts.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? How can we help? How can we help?